Maxon Shooters Blog

Owning a Gun Illinois FAQ's

Owning a Gun Illinois FAQ's

I wrote this post as a follow-up to our how to buy a gun page. There we go into detail about all the ins and outs of purchasing a firearm in Illinois, but we don't go much into actually owning it. As a new gun owner in Illinois you probably have many questions. Heck, even if you have owned firearms for a while you probably still have questions because this is Illinois. And Illinois gun laws can be pretty confusing. I've put together a list of some basic questions many people have asked over the years, and I hope this helps. Let me know in the comments other questions you may have.

Illinois Gun Owner FAQ’s

Can I keep a gun in my house in Illinois?

As an Illinois resident you can keep a firearm in your home as long as you have a valid FOID card in your possession. Certain local ordinances, state laws, and restrictions may restrict the type of gun though.

(720 ILCS 5/24-1) (from Ch. 38, par. 24-1
(a) A person commits the offense of unlawful use of weapons when he knowingly:
(4) Carries or possesses in any vehicle or concealed on or about his person except when on his land or in his own abode, legal dwelling, or fixed place of business, or on the land or in the legal dwelling of another person as an invitee with that person's permission, any pistol, revolver, stun gun or taser or other firearm…

Can I keep a gun in my glove box in Illinois?

Yes, you can keep an unloaded gun in your glove box as long as you have a valid FOID card. It can be loaded if you have a valid CCL, otherwise it must be kept unloaded and in a case.

Legally transporting firearms in Illinois FAQ’s from ISP
Four statutory sections regulate the possession, transfer and transportation of firearms; the Criminal Code, the Wildlife Code, the Firearm Owner’s Identification Act and the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
When transporting a firearm, it must be:
-Broken down in a non-functioning state; or
-Not immediately accessible; or
-Unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container by a person who has a valid FOID card; or
-Carried or possessed in accordance with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act (430 ILCS 66/) by a person who has a valid Illinois Concealed Carry License.

What disqualifies you from owning a gun in Illinois?

There are several things that will disqualify you from owning a firearm in IL, such as:

  • Not being a US citizen or legal alien
  • Having a medical marijuana license (this prevents you from purchasing from an FFL, but does not prevent you from owning)
  • Being convicted of a felony 
  • Being a patient in a mental institution in the past 5 years 
  • Being addicted to narcotics 
  • Being intellectually or developmentally disabled 
  • Being the subject to an existing order of protection 
  • Being convicted of battery, assault, aggravated assault, violation of an order of protection, or a substantially similar offense in which a firearm was used or possessed within the past 5 years. 
  • Ever having been convicted of domestic battery or a substantially similar offense 
  • Having been adjudicated a delinquent minor for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would have been a felony 
  • Being discharged from the armed forces dishonorably
  • Being a fugitive from justice

Page 18 from the ISP FOID Application PDF Help Doc

Do guns in Illinois have to be registered?

Only what was defined under the “Assault Weapons” Ban is required to be registered. And that had to be done before January 1st, 2024. All new residents moving to Illinois must register their “Assault Weapons” within 60 days.

ISP’s PICA FAQ’s Page: Question 32
You must apply for a Firearm Owner’s Identification Card and complete an endorsement affidavit within 60 days of moving to Illinois… You may complete an endorsement affidavit while your FOID Card application is pending.

Do magazines have to be registered in Illinois?

No. High capacity mags do NOT have to be registered under the “Assault Weapons” Ban. 

Does Illinois know what guns you own?

No, unless you specifically registered “Assault Weapons” Ban items within your FOID card portal. Otherwise, the state is only aware of how many background checks have been run for you, and for what type of firearm (pistol, rifle, shotgun, other.)

Can you own an AR 15 in Illinois?

Yes, but only if you already owned it before the “Assault Weapons” Ban went into effect January 10, 2023, or are moving to Illinois as a new resident and register.

Would you like to contribute to the battle against the Illinois “Assault Weapons” Ban?

You can learn more about AWB litigation and updates here, and this is an expensive fight. Whatever you're able to chip in will help preserve your gun rights. Please support Federal Firearms Licensees of Illinois, Inc here if you are able. Thank you.